Print this page | Close window
Federal Department of Defence
Civil Protection and Sport

Civil Protection

The joint Civil Protection system aims to ensure coordinated management, protection, rescue and relief.
The mission of Swiss Civil Protection is to protect the population and its vital resources in the event of disasters, emergencies and armed conflict.

Information on the most important aspects of the Civil Protection mission can be found on its website.

Joint Civil Protection system External website. Content opens in new window

The joint Civil Protection system aims to ensure coordinated management, protection, rescue and relief. Its partner organisations - the police, fire service, technical services, public health services and the Protection & Support service (P&S) - are in charge of tasks in their respective areas of expertise and provide mutual assistance. The command body has a pivotal role to play within the joint Swiss Civil Protection system.

 

Dangers and risks External website. Content opens in new window

Again and again, Switzerland is affected by incidents and developments that endanger the population and its vital infrastructure or at least considerably restrict everyday life. From today’s point of view, overcoming disasters and emergencies is the greatest challenge for civil protection, in particular because the extent of damage is increasing due to the greater integration of modern society, the growing vulnerability of infrastructure and the high density of valuable assets. 
 

Warning and alerting the population External website. Content opens in new window

Catastrophes can come within at very short notice or completely without prior warning. All the more important are the rapid flow of information and alerting the inhabitants early on. The National Emergency Operations Centre, an agency within the FOCP, plays an important role in warning and alerting. But principally every responsible authority has the right and the means to give the alarm by sounding the sirens itself in the event of a local or regional incident. Information is issued primarily by radio. 
 

NBC Protection External website. Content opens in new window

NBC protection comprises all measures to counter and prevent atomic (nuclear and radiological (N), biological (B) and chemical (C) threats and dangers. These include prevention efforts and the preparation of protective measures, as well as reconnaissance, protection from contamination and infections, decontamination and medical treatment.

 

Compulsory P&S duty External website. Content opens in new window (Further information only in german, french or italian)

All men of Swiss nationality are subject to compulsory military or alternative civilian service. Should they not perform either of these services, they are required to carry out compulsory P&S duty. The P&S service is one of the five partner organisations of the Swiss Civil Protection system.

 

Protection of Cultural Property External website. Content opens in new window

Safeguard and respect – these are the two central requirements set out in the 1954 Hague Convention with regard to the protection of cultural property. Recent events have shown that these basic principles have not been given the priority they deserve. The entry into force in 2004 of the 1999 Second Protocol of the Hague Convention, cultural property protection will once again be top of the international agenda.

 

Protection of crucial infrastructure External website. Content opens in new window

Society, politics and economy depend on a functioning infrastructure network. Those installations and organisations have been designated as crucial whose failure could have grave consequences. At the federal level the Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP has assumed the role of coordinator for the collaboration of all authorities involved in the protection of crucial infrastructure.

 

Protective structures External website. Content opens in new window

Protective structures are primarily designed to provide emergency accommodation in the event of disasters, emergencies and armed conflict. The aim is to guarantee every resident shelter close to his/her home. Switzerland has 270,000 protective shelters for use by the population and a further 3,500 protected premises.

For questions about this page: DDPS Communications

Further information

Documentation

  • Report on the Security Policy of Switzerland
Print this page | Close window

Imprimer cette page | Fermer la fenêtre
Département fédéral de la défense,
de la protection de la population et des sports

Protection de la population

La protection de la population est un système visant à assurer la coordination de la conduite, de la protection, du sauvetage et de l'aide.
La mission du système coordonné consiste à protéger la population et ses bases d'existence en cas de catastrophe, en situation d'urgence et en cas de conflit armé.

Des informations sur les principaux aspects liés à ce système se trouvent sur le portail Web de la protection de la population:

Le système coordonné de la protection de la population Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

La protection de la population est un système visant à assurer la coordination de la conduite, de la protection, du sauvetage et de l'aide. Les organisations partenaires, à savoir la police, les sapeurs-pompiers, la santé publique, les services techniques et la protection civile, sont responsables de leur domaine respectif et se prêtent mutuellement assistance. L'organe de conduite joue un rôle prépondérant au sein de système de la protection de la population.

 

Dangers et risques Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

De tous temps, la Suisse a été touchée par des événements et des évolutions qui menacent la population et ses bases d’existence ou, du moins, ont un impact considérable sur les activités quotidiennes. La gestion des catastrophes et des situations d’urgence représente actuellement le principal défi en matière de protection de la population, en particulier parce que celles-ci entraînent des dommages de plus en plus importants en raison de l’augmentation des interconnexions dans la société moderne, de la vulnérabilité accrue et de la densité des infrastructures.  

 

Alerte et alarme de la population Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

Les catastrophes et les situations d'urgence se produisent sans préavis. Il est donc primordial de faire circuler rapidement l'information et de donner à temps l'alarme à la population. La Centrale nationale d'alarme, qui est une division de l’OFPP, joue un rôle de premier plan dans l’alerte et l’alarme. En principe, chaque autorité compétente peut actionner les sirènes de son propre chef en cas d’événement local ou régional. Les informations sont données en premier lieu par la radio. 

 

Protection ABC Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

La protection ABC englobe toutes les mesures prises pour prévenir et combattre les menaces et dangers de nature atomique (nucléaire et radiologique, A), biologique (B) et chimique (C). Elle comprend la prévention et la préparation de mesures de protection, ainsi que, en cas d'événement, la détection, la protection contre la contamination et les infections, la décontamination et le traitement médical.

 

Obligation de servir Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

Sont astreints à servir dans la protection civile les hommes de nationalité suisse qui y sont aptes. Les hommes astreints au service militaire ou au service civil ne sont pas astreints à servir dans la protection civile. La protection civile est une des cinq organisations partenaires de la protection de la population.

 

Protection des biens culturels Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

La protection et le respect des biens culturels sont deux objectifs centraux de la Convention de La Haye de 1954. Les expériences du passé ont toutefois montré que ces deux principes n'avaient plus la priorité depuis longtemps. Suite à l'entrée en vigueur, en 2004, du Deuxième Protocole (1999) à la Convention de La Haye, la protection des biens culturels (PBC) a enfin retrouvé une place de premier choix à l'échelle internationale.

 

Protection des infrastructures critiques Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

La société, le monde politique et les entreprises ont besoin d’infrastructures opérationnelles. On qualifie de critiques les équipements et organisations dont la défaillance peut avoir des conséquences graves. Sur le plan national, l’Office fédéral de la protection de la population (OFPP) coordonne la collaboration entre tous les organes concernés par la protection de ces infrastructures. 
 

Ouvrages de protection Page externe. Le contenu sera ouvert dans la nouvelle fenêtre

Réalisés dans la perspective d'un conflit armé, les ouvrages de protection doivent également pouvoir servir d'hébergement de fortune lors de catastrophes et de situations d'urgence. L'infrastructure de protection doit satisfaire le principe suivant: chaque habitant doit disposer d'une place dans un abri situé à proximité de son domicile. Le pays est quadrillé par plus de 270 000 abris, auxquels s'ajoutent 3'500 constructions protégées.

Pour des questions concernant cette page: Communication DDPS
Imprimer cette page | Fermer la fenêtre