Skip to main content

About us

President of the Swiss Confederation

In 2018, the Federal Assembly elected Viola Amherd to the Federal Council. She took over as head of the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport on 1 January 2019.

Administrative units of the DDPS

The DDPS is divided into nine sectors that report directly to the Head of the DDPS: the Defence sector, the General Secretariat, the State Secretariat for Security Policy, the Federal Intelligence Service, the National Cyber Security Center, the Federal Office for Procurement (armasuisse), the Federal Office of Topography (swisstopo), the Federal Office for Civil Protection and the Federal Office for Sport. The Office of the Armed Forces Attorney General is also an administrative unit of the DDPS. It is the service provider of the military tribunal systems and creates the conditions from which the military prosecutions authorities and military tribunals of all instances, which are independent of both armed forces leadership and Government in every respect, can competently fulfil their statutory duties.

Enterprises affiliated to the Swiss government

RUAG MRO Holding Ltd and RUAG International Holding Ltd are two independently operating groups. RUAG International is mainly active in the aerospace markets, while RUAG MRO provides all security-related services for the DDPS.

The Library Am Guisanplatz BiG

The BiG is the main library of the federal administration and the Swiss Armed Forces. The library’s collections on civilian and military topics and its services can be used for scientific purposes and by the public.